The California Cannabis Countdown: Santa Rosa | Canna Law Blog™
Wednesday, May 31, 2017

California has 58 counties and 482 incorporated cities across the state, each with the option to create its own rules or ban marijuana altogether. In this California Cannabis Countdown series, we plan to cover who is banning, who is waiting, and who is embracing California’s change to legalize marijuana — permits, regulations, taxes and all. For each city and county, we’ll discuss its location, history with cannabis, current law, and proposed law to give you a clearer picture of where to locate your cannabis business, how to keep it legal, and what you will and won’t be allowed to do.

Our last California Cannabis Countdown post was on the County and City of San Bernardino, and before that, Marin County, Nevada County, the City of Lynwood, the City of Coachella, Los Angeles County, the City of Los Angeles, the City of Desert Hot Springs, Sonoma County, the City of Sacramento, the City of Berkeley, Calaveras County, Monterey County and the City of Emeryville.

Welcome to the California Cannabis Countdown.

For cultivators: for the first two years (if the ballot is approved) 2% of gross receipts or $5.00 per square foot of cannabis cultivation area, at the taxpayer’s election. After two years the tax is scheduled to increase to 8% of gross receipts or $25 per square foot. For manufacturers: the initial two year tax rate will be 1% of gross receipts and will increase to 8% after the two year term. For dispensaries: the initial two year tax rate will be 3% of gross receipts (only applicable to non-medical use) and will increase to 8% after the two year term. For distributors: the initial rate will be 0% but distributors will be subject to the standard city business tax under Santa Rosa City Code Chapter 6-04) – after two years this rate will also be set at 8%.